I am impressed. Over the past hours, I have been working on a Dutch translation of the pope’s address to the German Bundestag. In the process, I got a fairly thorough read of the text, and I must say that this is one of the most eloquent, intelligent and challenging reflections (as the Holy Father himself calls it) from Benedict’s pen than I have read.

Of course, over the course of yesterday, I got the impression through Twitter and other media that the pope’s visit to Germany was of to a good start, and that several people already considered this address one of the most important in this pontificate. And I don’t think these people are wrong. The address is a serious discourse about the nature of politics and its foundation in natural law and reason – a union of Jerusalem, Athens and Rome.

Go, read, think about it (and that goes doubly if you’re a politician – triple if you’re a Dutch politician).

In the meantime, we’re off to see what today brings. If yesterday in Berlin was anything to go by, Erfurt today should be a success as well.

Photo credit: Sean Gallup/Getty Images

