For Corpus Christi, prayer around the world

pope benedict xvi“The act of adoration outside Mass prolongs and intensifies all that takes place during the liturgical celebration itself. Indeed, “only in adoration can a profound and genuine reception mature. And it is precisely this personal encounter with the Lord that then strengthens the social mission contained in the Eucharist, which seeks to break down not only the walls that separate the Lord and ourselves, but also and especially the walls that separate us from one another.” [1]

 “The  bread I will give is my flesh, for the life of the world” (Jn 6:51). In  these words the Lord reveals the true meaning of the gift of his life for all  people. These words also reveal his deep compassion for every man and woman.

Our communities, when they  celebrate the Eucharist, must become ever more conscious that the sacrifice of  Christ is for all, and that the Eucharist thus compels all who believe in him to  become “bread that is broken” for others, and to work for the building of a  more just and fraternal world.”

Pope Benedict XVI, Sacramentum caritatis, N. 66 and 88.

These words about the value of Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament by Pope emeritus Benedict XVI open a prayer card issued by the Dutch bishops on the occasion of the Feast of Corpus Christi, this June 2nd. This year the day will be marked with a worldwide Holy Hour of Adoration, as called for by Benedict XVI as he opened the Year of Faith. The power of prayer before the physical Lord should never be underestimated, but a simultaneous effort should be truly significant.

The prayer card continuous with a Gospel passage that reflects this same unified nature of the Church:

green-grapes-on-vine“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in me that bears no fruit he cuts away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes to make it bear even more. You are clean already, by means of the word that I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I in you. As a branch cannot bear fruit all by itself, unless it remains part of the vine, neither can you unless you remain in me.

I am the vine, you are the branches. Whoever remains in me, with me in him, bears fruit in plenty; for cut off from me you can do nothing. Anyone who does not remain in me is thrown away like a branch — and withers; these branches are collected and thrown on the fire and are burnt.

If you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for whatever you please and you will get it. It is to the glory of my Father that you should bear much fruit and be my disciples. I have loved you just as the Father has loved me. Remain in my love.

If you keep my commandments you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my own joy may be in you and your joy be complete.

Gospel of John 15:1-11

Finally, a short prayer by Saint Ignatius of Loyola, perhaps chosen not entirely by coincidence, as he is the founder of the Society of Jesus, the Jesuit Order of which Pope Francis was a member:

Take, Lord, and receive all my liberty,
my memory, my understanding
and my entire will,
All I have and call my own.

You have given all to me.
To you, Lord, I return it.

Everything is yours; do with it what you will.
Give me only your love and your grace.
That is enough for me.

Suscipe, St. Ignatus of Loyola

[1] Benedict XVI, Address to  the Roman Curia (22 December 2005): AAS 98 (2006), 45.

Photo credit: [1] AP Photo/Pier Paolo Cito

Published by

incaelo

I'm a 37-year-old lay Catholic from the diocese of Groningen-Leeuwarden. I write about the Catholic Church in the Netherlands. I not only enjoy bringing selected developments to the attention of readers, but I also think that it is sometimes important to allow a wider audience to read about the state of the Church in the Netherlands. That's why a fair number of posts about that topic will be translations of Dutch articles, episcopal writings and whatever else.

2 thoughts on “For Corpus Christi, prayer around the world”

  1. Greetings Mark — I hope I am successful in contacting you. I’ve just discovered your blog [but haven’t found a working email address on your site] as I was trying to find information about Masses in The Hague. My husband and I will be visiting there next week, and I have been having a little trouble finding information about Mass times and churches. Many of the links in the directory for the Diocese of Rotterdam are incomplete or not very informative. I sense from your blog and your lists of favourite Catholic websites that we have a similar appreciation of traditional Catholic churches and liturgies, and I would appreciate any guidance you could give me as to where in The Hague we would find a lovely and dignified Mass.

    We are coming from Canada, but it is not necessary that we attend Mass in English — if it’s properly done we should be able to follow it in any language, right?! I have found a Latin Mass at St. Jacob’s Church on Sunday morning, which would be fine for me — however, my husband is attending a conference and a Saturday evening Mass would accommodate him best, but that’s what I’m having trouble finding. Many of the churches in the city seem to have a very “thin” Mass schedule. Others look downright scary to me, like the International Catholic Church of Our Saviour — I’m not sure from their website that they’re even in communion with the Church! Help!

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog. And we’d be most appreciative if you have any advice for us about finding a palatable Mass in The Hague. Many thanks,

    CSB

  2. Appreciating the dedication you put into your site and in depth information you offer.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of
    date rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m
    adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

