Evangelii Gaudium in Dutch

For the Dutch readers of my blog (and those who don’t read it…):

EVANGELII GAUDIUM IN DUTCH

evangelii gaudiumAs a way of reading Pope Francis’ Apostolic Exhortation Evangelii Gaudium, I am making a Dutch translation of it while I am reading. I find that translating requires a concentrated absorbing of the text and its meaning, which is ideal for this long theological (but at times also pastoral and personal) text.

A the time of writing I have completed translating the introduction, so we’re not even at the meat of the text yet… But anyway, it’s a work in progress. That means that there will be errors in there (although not many), and although the text contains footnotes, I have not added them yet.

Pope Francis quotes from many sources, of course. Where possible, I have used existing Dutch translations of those sources. For official documents I referred to the excellent resource that is RKDocumenten.nl, and Bible quotes came from Willibrordbijbel.nl.

Readers of English or other languages may of course find the text here.

3 thoughts on “Evangelii Gaudium in Dutch”

Leave a Reply

