Fourth Station – Jesus meets His Mother

Simeon blessed them and said to Mary, his mother, ‘This child is destined for the falling and rising of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be opposed, so that the inner thoughts of many will be revealed – and a sword will pierce your own soul too’ … His mother treasured all these things in her heart” (Luke 2:34,35,51).

station4

Jesus’ thoughts:

My Mother is part of the crowd. My heart is racing. I can only catch a glimpse of her. Blood is streaming down my face.

When I was just forty days old, I was brought to the Temple to be presented according to the Law of Moses. A prophet spoke to my father and mother. His name was Simeon. He took me in his arms. He said that I would be a “sign of contradiction”, and he told my mother that “a sword will pierce your soul”. Those words have now become a searing reality, for her and for me. Today my presentation is complete.

Prayer:

Lord Jesus, we pray for our mothers and mothers everywhere. Theirs is often a heavy burden of fear and hope, concern and joy. We ask You to help us lighten their burden. May the Blessed Virgin Mary, Your Mother, always speak for them and us. Make the hearts of mothers strong.

Published by

incaelo

I'm a 37-year-old lay Catholic from the diocese of Groningen-Leeuwarden. I write about the Catholic Church in the Netherlands. I not only enjoy bringing selected developments to the attention of readers, but I also think that it is sometimes important to allow a wider audience to read about the state of the Church in the Netherlands. That's why a fair number of posts about that topic will be translations of Dutch articles, episcopal writings and whatever else.