Second Station – Jesus takes up His Cross

“After mocking him, they stripped him of the purple cloak and put his own clothes on him. Then they led him out to crucify him” (Mark 15:20)

station2Jesus’ thoughts:

The soldiers of the governor surround me. For them, I am no longer a person but a thing. They want to toy with me, to mock me. So they dress me up as a king. There is even a crown, a crown of thorns. They strike my head with a reed. They spit on me. They lead me off.

I keep thinking of the striking passage of the prophet Isaiah about the Servant of the Lord. It says that he had no appearance of beauty; he was despised; he was a man of sorrows; he was like a lamb led to the slaughter; he was cut off from the land of the living; he was beaten to death. I am that Servant, sent to reveal the greatness of God’s love for man.

Prayer:

Lord Jesus, as You were mocked and despised, You did not change. You were still a man among us, a servant of the Lord. May we likewise never lose our identity in the face of adversity. We are creatures willed by You, and no one can take that away from us.

Published by

incaelo

I'm a 37-year-old lay Catholic from the diocese of Groningen-Leeuwarden. I write about the Catholic Church in the Netherlands. I not only enjoy bringing selected developments to the attention of readers, but I also think that it is sometimes important to allow a wider audience to read about the state of the Church in the Netherlands. That's why a fair number of posts about that topic will be translations of Dutch articles, episcopal writings and whatever else.