Tenth Station – Jesus is stripped of His Garments

“They divide my clothes among themselves, and for my clothing they cast lots” (Psalm 22:18)

station10

Jesus’ thoughts:

I stand in silence. I feel humiliated by so apparently banal an act. I was already stripped hours ago. I think of my Mother, who is here. My humiliation is also hers. Once more her heart is pierced. To her I owe the robe which was torn from me, which is a sign of her love for me.

Prayer:

Lord Jesus, with your garments they took away your dignity, but you underwent it with an innate silent dignity. May we follow your example when we are vilified and mocked, and know that our human dignity comes from God and can not be taken away by men.

Published by

incaelo

I'm a 37-year-old lay Catholic from the diocese of Groningen-Leeuwarden. I write about the Catholic Church in the Netherlands. I not only enjoy bringing selected developments to the attention of readers, but I also think that it is sometimes important to allow a wider audience to read about the state of the Church in the Netherlands. That's why a fair number of posts about that topic will be translations of Dutch articles, episcopal writings and whatever else.