Third Station – Jesus falls beneath the Cross

“But he was wounded for our transgressions, crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the punishment that made us whole, and by his wounds we are healed (Isaiah 53:5)

station3Jesus’ thoughts:

I stagger as I take my first steps towards Calvary. I have already lost a lot of blood. It is hard for me to bear the weight of the wood I have to carry. And so I fall to the ground.

Someone helps me up. I see people all around me. Surely there are some who love me. Others are just curious bystanders. I think of John the Baptist, who at the beginning of my public life, said: “Here is the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!”.Now the truth of those words is revealed.

Prayer:

Lord Jesus, the first step is often the hardest. As you fell under the weight of the Cross, you must have known this. May our first steps, even if they make us fall, always show us that there are people to help us, and that there is a way forward, a way to get through our difficulties, with You at our side.

Published by

incaelo

I'm a 37-year-old lay Catholic from the diocese of Groningen-Leeuwarden. I write about the Catholic Church in the Netherlands. I not only enjoy bringing selected developments to the attention of readers, but I also think that it is sometimes important to allow a wider audience to read about the state of the Church in the Netherlands. That's why a fair number of posts about that topic will be translations of Dutch articles, episcopal writings and whatever else.