Twelfth Station – Jesus dies on the Cross

station12Jesus’ words on the Cross:

Jesus cried with a loud voice, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”. Then, turning to his Mother, he said, “Woman, here is your son!”, and to the disciple John, “Here is your mother”. He said, “I am thirsty”. He said, “It is finished”. And finally, “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit”.

Prayer:

Lord Jesus, no words can express our prayer at this time, except the words of children. Be with us. Accept us as your children. Quench our thirst. Accept our spirit when we come to you.

Published by

incaelo

I'm a 37-year-old lay Catholic from the diocese of Groningen-Leeuwarden. I write about the Catholic Church in the Netherlands. I not only enjoy bringing selected developments to the attention of readers, but I also think that it is sometimes important to allow a wider audience to read about the state of the Church in the Netherlands. That's why a fair number of posts about that topic will be translations of Dutch articles, episcopal writings and whatever else.