New priests (and one to offer one of his first Masses in the Extraordinary Form)

On Saturday I attended the ordination to the priesthood of Fathers Patrick Kuis and Geoffrey de Jong in the cathedral basilica of Saint John the Evangelist in ‘s Hertogenbosch. These were two of nine new priests that the Church in the Netherlands received on that day. 27-year-old Fr. Patrick is a personal friend, so the ordination was especially joyous.

Father Patrick will remain assigned to the cathedral parish in ‘s Hertogenbosch, a choice assignment in the largest diocese of the country in terms of the number of Catholics. He had already been in that parish since his ordination to the diaconate.

Father Patrick’s first Masses was celebrated in the the basilica, but he will celebrate a number of other ‘first’ Masses: in the cathedral of Sts. Joseph and Martin in Groningen, the parish church of St. James the Greater in Uithuizen and in the FSSP church of St. Agnes in Amsterdam.

This last Mass is of course of special interest to those traditionally-minded readers of this blog. Fr. Patrick will offer this Mass in the Extraordinary Form, which is quite unique for newly-ordained priest, certainly in the Netherlands. Recently, some note was made of the first Mass of a newly-ordained priest in New York who offered his first Mass in the Extraordinary Form (Father Z writes about that here), and I think that this fact is no less worthy of attention.

Congratulations to Fathers Patrick and Geoffrey, as well as the other new priests in the Dioceses of Roermond and Haarlem-Amsterdam, as well as to all the faithful they will serve in the many years to come!

The website of the seminary as an extensive photo gallery of the ordination here.

Photo credit: [1] Wim Koopman, [2] my own

3 thoughts on “New priests (and one to offer one of his first Masses in the Extraordinary Form)”

  1. CORDIALLY INVITATION FOR ORDINATION:
    Hebrews5:5-6.

    Dear Brothers/Sisters:

    Many Greetings from Rev,Brother:Ilyas Raza (Deacon) Punjab-Pakistan,I am very glad to inform you that my Ordination date has been fixed (16,November 2012)and i am very busy to inform my friends,brothers/sisters in this world for this day which my Lord Jesus Christ is giving and blessing me to spread the Gospel among the People specially among the poor christian communities in Distt;Layyah Diocese of Lahore.

    I hope you will also encourge and pray for me specially for my Pastoral work which already i am doing among the poor christian communities in Distt:Layyah.

    My dear brothers/Sisters: i need your lot of prayers,but i need your little financial help (little Share) for my ordination program,as you know many guests are coming from far and near,Our church want to provide them good food on this lovely program.

    I want to explain you my bishop is giving me half cost,and half cost will be bear by me.

    Total Cost: 87,000 (Pak Rupees) 966 (USD).
    Bishop Brian (Share) 4350 (Pak Rupees) 483 (USD)
    I need your help, 4350 (Pak Rupees) 483 (USD).

    Once again i request you 483 USD which i need from you,i hope you and your family and friends will be able to help and provide me for this great ordination program.Please do not forget me request,now this time i need your help and prayers.

    My church ACC will be always remember you on this day,specially after my ordination it is nust that i shall say Holy Mass for you and your family and friends,which are going to help me for this great program.

    GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY,FRIENDS.
    Pay my compliments to near ones and dear ones:

    Stay blessed,
    Rev,Brother:Ilyas Raza (Deacon)
    St,Matthew Parish Chowk Azam
    Teh,Distt:Layyah Punjab
    Pakistan
    +923024857296

Leave a comment